Houston, TX Hit and Run Accident Lawyer
In Texas, you cannot leave the scene of an accident if there is an injury or any property damage. The law requires you to exchange information with the other driver that hit you. Unfortunately, not all drivers follow the law. They may leave the scene and leave you with the stress of wondering how you are going to pay for your medical bills and repairs to your car.
At Hernandez Redden Sunosky, LLP, our top-rated Houston, TX Hit and Run Accident Lawyer help hit and run victims achieve the best possible outcome.
Why Do People Flee Accident Scenes In Houston, TX?
It can be so aggravating. You are in your car patiently waiting at a red light and another person rear-ends your car. You try to exchange information but the person drives away. Why would they leave the scene of an accident?
People leave the scene of an accident because they are often guilty of something more. Some reasons include:
- Driving without car insurance
- Driving without a valid license
- Driving drunk or under the influence of drugs
- Driving a stolen car
- Carrying drugs or other illegal items
- Having a warrant out for their arrest
What To Do After A Hit and Run Accident In Houston, TX?
A hit and run accident can happen quickly. It is a stressful situation, but try your best to gather as much information as possible.
- Write down any information about the vehicle that hit you, including the license plate number and make and model of the car.
- Take photographs of the vehicle with your cell phone (if possible).
- Call the police immediately and tell them everything you know about the other car.
- Collect contact information from any possible witnesses to the hit and run.
- Take a photo of the damage to your car and the accident scene.
- Call a personal injury lawyer to protect your rights.
Obtaining Compensation In A Houston, TX Hit And Run Accident
Your ability to collect monetary compensation will depend on whether the hit and run driver is identified and the available insurance coverage.
1. Hit and Run Driver is Identified
If the hit and run driver who left the scene is known, you can file a claim through the other driver's insurance policy for both bodily injuries and bodily injuries. Texas requires all drivers carry liability insurance in at least the following minimum amounts:
- $30,000 per person for bodily injury
- $60,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $25,000 per accident for property damages.
If the hit and run driver has insurance, the driver should have at least this much available coverage. If the hit and run driver has no insurance coverage, then you will need to file a claim with your insurance company under your uninsured motorist (UM) policy, if you paid for the coverage.
If your medical bills and damages exceed the other person's coverage, you may be able to recover additional compensation through your own underinsured motorist (UIM) policy, assuming you paid for the additional coverage.
If you are not sure if you have UM/UIM insurance coverage, call Hernandez Redden Sunosky, LLP for help. We can help guide you in identifying your insurance coverage.
2. Hit And Run Driver Is Not Identified
Texas uninsured motorist (UM) policies cover hit and run accidents. Thus, if the hit and run driver cannot be identified, you will need to file a claim through your UM coverage.
We Help Hit And Run Accident Victims.
A skilled Houston, TX Hit and Run Accident lawyer at Hernandez Redden Sunosky, LLP, can review the facts of your case, carefully examine your insurance policy and determine all insurance coverage available to you after a hit and run accident. Schedule a free consultation by calling 713.981.4100.